Log in

SCAUG regional Awards

Founders Awards

Founder's Award Nomination Form

The Founders Award was created in 1990 to recognize exceptional contributions by an individual or agency, from either the private or public sector, that have significantly enhanced the importance of geospatial sciences and made significant contributions toward advancing the use of GIS. The individual or agency is identified as a GIS leader that has helped set a new standard of GIS within the SCAUG region. The award is based upon the innovative use of current technology, a creative approach to GIS business processes, the recent integration of major program initiatives, program effectiveness, the transferability of ideas to other organizations, education and training initiatives, and community outreach.

  • 2008 Winner - Scott Samson, GISP, CMS, Mississippi State University
  • 2009 Winner - City of New Braunfels
  • 2010 Winner - Columbia Regional Geospatial Service Center
  • 2011 Winner - Texas Natural Resource Information System
  • 2012 Winner - Association Central Oklahoma Governments (ACOG)
  • 2013 Winner - Pam Jurney, Red Plains Professionals
  • 2014 Winner - Justin Cure, City of Longview, Texas
  • 2015 Winner - Katy Rich, Williams
  • 2016 Winner - Matthew Wormus and the OKDEQ GIS Subcommittee
  • 2017 Winner  - Jann Hook & Sara Cobb, Founders of OKSCAUG
  • 2018 Winner - Lower River Grand Valley Development Council
  • 2019 Winner - Chris Mask, Visual Lease Services
  • 2020 Winner - Lydia Sauceda
  • 2022 Winner - Andrew Berens, Lousiana Department of Health
  • 2023 Winner - Colin Brooks, OK Corporation Commission

Thumbs Up Awards

The Thumb's Up award shall be given on an annual basis at the Regional SCAUG Conference. This award will be presented to a single person or agency, from the Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Mississippi that has been a friend to the Association by donating significant time and/or resources - going above and beyond normal expectations.

  • 2008 Winner - John Samuel
  • 2009 Winner - City of McKinney
  • 2010 Winner - Rio Grande Valley Arc User Group
  • 2011 Winner - Abigail Bush
  • 2012 Winner - Lower Rio Grand Valley Development Council (LRGVDC)
  • 2013 Winner - Jim Steil , MARIS
  • 2014 Winner - Jessica Reyna, Lower Rio Grand Valley Development Council
  • 2015 Winner - Scott Trapolino, Desoto County GIS
  • 2016 Winner - Pamela Jurney, Cross Timbers Consulting
  • 2017 Winner -  Betsi Chatham, City of Grapevine, TX
  • 2018 Winner - David Allen, Texas Emergency GIS Response Team
  • 2019 Winner - Bill Hodge, GISP - GIS Certification Institute
  • 2020 Winner - Lt. Ronald Vaughn, Dallas Fire and Rescue
  • 2022 Winner - NewEdge Services, LLC
  • 2023 Winner - Leah Nash, Candace Johnston-Perry, Daniela Spade, OU Center for Spatial Analysis 

2024 Award Winners

Founders Award

 Scott Trapolino has always been the biggest cheerleader for SCAUG. No matter where he goes or what event he is attending he is always encouraging people to join SCAUG. Scott recently took on the initiative to coordinate a local group in Mississippi to further SCAUG in his State. The MS SCAUG Group has now had 2 events with over 75 people registered in each event. Scott's efforts have lead to over 190 Mississippi contacts added to the SCAUG database and 54 active members. This is the most members SCAUG has ever had from Mississippi. As MS Rep for SCAUG Scott set a goal at the start of his term to increase Mississippi membership and host regional events in his local area. Scott not only accomplished this goal but created a synergy among the GIS community. Thanks to Scott's vision and coordination Mississippi is well on its way to having a strong and pro active User Group. Scott is a dynamic GIS leader who is very deserving of the 2024 Founder's Award.

Thumbs Up Awards

The MS SCAUG Steering Committee (Haley Feather, Holli Gill, Tracey Milton and Scott Trapolino) have been a friend to SCAUG by donating significant time and/or resources; going above and beyond normal expectations. The MS SCAUG group has hosted two large events in the MS area with over 75 people registered for each event. The Steering Committee dedicated significant time and efforts to bring the GIS users of Mississippi together. This effort has increased SCAUG Membership in the area and created participation that SCAUG has not seen from that area in the past. This group of individuals saw a need for a local initiative and went above and beyond to make it happen. This group definitely deserves the Thumbs Up Award!

SCAUG is a not for profit organization dedicated to benefit users of ESRI’s geographic information software | Founded in 1990 | © SCAUG 2019 |

South Central Arc Users Group

P.O. Box 96

Ardmore, OK 73402

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software